COLLECTION AND CONNECTION: The Giant Panda and The Power of Cute COLLECTION AND CONNECTION: The Giant Panda and The Power of Cute

COLLECTION AND CONNECTION:

The Giant Panda and The Power of Cute

Virtual Event

  • Thu, 21 Oct 2021

  • Zoom Webinar

  • 8–9pm

  • Free with Registration

    Ticketing link

Pandas are so adorable that it is difficult not to fall in love with them. Undeniably one of the most successful ambassadors that expresses China’s soft power, their cuteness has an immense hold on us. Beyond that, presenting pandas as gifts conveys notions of guanxi 关系 (connections) and mingming 命名 (naming).

Join Dr Cheng Wen-Haur from Mandai Wildlife Group, Dr Graeme Smith from Australian National University and Dr Lim Chye Hong from Singapore Art Museum as they shine a spotlight on panda mania, cross-cultural exchanges, and the protection of wildlife.

The programme will start from:
8pm Singapore | 11pm Sydney | 1pm London | 2pm Berlin | 7pm Chiang Mai/ Jakarta

Photo credit: Mandai Wildlife Group